Aberford Addendum

2016 has been a year of unforeseen events both politically and personally; so much so that it seems a lifetime ago that I visited Lotherton Hall and was surprised to find that it wasn’t the place I expected it to be yet it is only a few months since my visit and even less since I posted about it.

Despite all of this I didn’t forget the original inspiration for my visit; the grand and gothic Gascoigne almshouses, and so on one of journeys through Yorkshire I found time for a brief detour through the village of Aberford on the route of the old Great North Road.  Brief indeed, for the private ownership of the building means that I could photograph it from the roadside, but there was no opportunity for exploration.

A worthwhile detour nevertheless.

 

Perhaps a shade de trop for offices?

_pw_0955-edit

2 thoughts on “Aberford Addendum

Leave a Reply

