Not withstanding the views expressed by others about the latin charms of Havana’s residents, or the thread on Trip Advisor about where to find romance in the city, it’s not a place that I would consider as having a lot of romantic possibilities.

Now that might say more about me than it does Havana.  Perhaps I was blind to the opportunities, but I’d like to think that I do have a romantic bone or two in this body.

For me the heat and humidity caused the problem.  It’s hard to feel confident of your appeal when your clothes, rather than enhancing your physical appeal, cling to everything they touch and soaked by perspiration become unflatteringly shapeless.   When perfumes must battle with a mustiness that is ingrained into everything from buildings to banknotes.  When you come ready seasoned with a layer of saltiness.

One of the options suggested on the Trip Advisor thread was to enjoy drinks at sunset on the patio of the Hotel Nacional, something that I did on a couple of occasions after a day of exploration in the city.  On one evening a striking brunette in scarlet dress with matching lips sat at my table to write her journal for the day and we soon struck up a conversation.  If Cupid did arrive with his bow and arrow he would have been disappointed.  Conscious of my dishevelled and dusty appearance, and self-conscious of any possible aroma, I quickly excused myself to my room and the shower, never to see her again.

So I don’t see Rome or Paris feeling threatened by Havana, but there were others who may disagree!

Havana

Leave a Reply

