My recent post “None So Blind” prompted an email conversation about why I would post such a raw piece about my feelings in the wake of the end of a relationship. I left it there for a while for its cathartic effect, but with passing time it felt less appropriate so I have password protected it to keep it private, though after reading this post from Candidkay, I’m wondering whether to draw back the curtains again…

candidkay

It usually happens to me after I have published a blog post.

Sometimes, it occurs in the grocery store. An acquaintance will approach, face filled with pity, and ask, “How ARE you? Are you holding up OK?”

Or I receive an email that reads, “Your latest blog seemed so melancholy. Is all ok?”

The sentiment behind these questions is sweet. I know it comes from a good place.

But I still find myself scratching my head, wondering about how well this person knows me. It turns out, usually, not so well.

Because if you know me well, you know I go through peaks and valleys just like any of you do. We all hit them in one form or another. But rarely do I stay in either scenic lookout. The majority of my days are a steady path, moving forward. The peaks and valleys are not something the wise among…

View original post 238 more words

3 thoughts on “Postcards from the scenic overlooks of life

  1. You’re very welcome – I’m sure your thoughts resonate with many bloggers who draw on personal experience and understand the dilemma of editorial discretion.

Leave a Reply

