Ciao Paulo (Venezia 243)

Little alcoves and recesses containing small shrines to saints and madonnas are commonplace in much of Italy, though I must say they seemed particularly prevalent in Venice.  Some are glazed to keep the weather and air blown pollution from damaging the artwork inside, and some have the additional protection of iron bars, which can on occasion make it virtually impossible to view the contents.

So when I caught my reflection staring back from such a space, my first thought was that the glass was opaque and I’d be able to see beyond it when I got nearer.  I didn’t expect it to be an actual mirror, which leads me to wonder how many others take advantage for a sneaky selfie?  Today I feel I can justify the act.  It is my birthday after all!

Venezia-12

Leave a Reply

