Tempo Telefono (Venezia 235)

When I’ve run training courses over the years I incorporate mid-morning and mid-afternoon breaks which I’ve traditionally referred to a coffee breaks, tea breaks, or, if more appropriate to the workforce in front of me, smoking breaks.  Recently I’ve noticed a change in habits however, for as soon as that break arrives the majority of those in the room reach for their smartphones to reply to texts and emails, check out their snapchats or see what’s new on facebook.

Seemingly the same is true around the world.  Earlier in this project I mentioned that I like to shoot waiters and kitchen staff when they sneak outside for a quick cigarette.  (I think the appeal is in capturing someone who is totally engrossed in their own world as they have a moment or two to think about what is going on in their lives.)  It seems that the phone taking over here too.

Venezia-14

 

Leave a Reply

