I had a conversation with someone this week about Susan Dellinger’s psycho-geometric tests; she was a squiggle but wanted to be a circle!  I told her not to worry about it; the left-brain/right-brain  thinking behind the tests has been largely disproved with the advent of brain scanning technology.

In my professional world I am described as an INTJ, or Co-ordinator/Monitor Evaluator/Plant, or high Compliant depending on whether you favour Myers-Briggs, Raymond Meredith Belbin or Wonder-Woman creator William Moulton Marston.

My former spouse sought a label to define and control me in the crisis periods of our marriage; depressive? Bi-polar? Asperger?  The right one would have delivered the right medication and the right outcome, but she was left empty-handed.

And how do I see myself?  Loner?  Sometimes – I’m an only child raised by adoptive parents who left me to my own devices.  Nerd?  A little – on seeing The Second Best Marigold Hotel last night I found a lot of pleasure in correctly recognising Thomas Newman‘s lush strings.  Arrogant?  I struggle to see it personally, but in my days of online dating it was an accusation levelled at me, and why else would I want to expose the world to my musings through blogging?  Obsessive?  Can we say passionate instead?

This last descriptor is certainly one I’d apply in photography.  I can’t stand a horizon that isn’t level, particularly when it involves water.  What’s stopping it all running off the edge of the image?!!!  Then there are the vertical lines of buildings.  A little harder when a wide angle lens will distort them but I take great pains to get the main vertical correct.  Without it a sense of instability is created.  I make exceptions occasionally with candid photography, where the introduction of Dutch angles brings a sense of dynamism.

APW_6274And the point of all this?  A week ago I was in Durham and shot this image of a lamp post for a bit of practice in photoshop.  I wanted to process it to try and create a night time effect where the lamp was illuminating an otherwise dark scene.  First job was to straighten up the image.  But how?  Which is of the many lines was the vertical?  The lamp post?  The drain-pipes? The corners of adjoining buildings?  I couldn’t even rely on the windows as the movement of walls that bulge and sag over the years distorts the original intent.

Durham’s age and topography conspire to create a chaotic jumble that defy any attempt to iron out the wrinkles, and in fact that chaos contributes to the city’s undoubted beauty.

With a bit of acceptance, the final image turned out alright too.  Perhaps I should add creative to the list?

APW_6274-Edit

3 thoughts on “Shining a Light?

  1. I think I can accept more a leaning light post than a leaning building in the same way I can accept temporary things wrong in life than a whole life gone the wrong way.

  2. Interesting! Curves and irregularities highlight beauty in my accommodating eyes… degrees of tolerance shimmer 🙂 I enjoyed your linguistic journey here, but you don’t say much about the two town/castle-scapes. It was the strong turquoise/great palette that drew my eye and unified those two images for me. Creative? Yes…

  3. Hi Becky

    I chose those two because they added to the sense of jumble that Durham creates, as to the palette, the car park where I shot them from intrudes into the right hand side and is so strongly coloured I felt it was better to accept it than fight it so went for a cooler colour temperature in processing.

Leave a Reply

