St Mark’s square is full of photographers, mostly capturing friends and family on their smartphones with the basilica, clock tower, campanile, cafe orchestra, etc. as backdrop to the image.  It’s purpose is to prove we were there rather than have any aesthetic merit.  I know.  I’ve been the subject of plenty of those shots in the past, and taken my fair share too.

Now when I’m engaged in trying to find a different image I unpack a tripod, search for some high vantage point, prostrate myself on the ground or back into shadows where I might be less visible, eccentricities which seem to puzzle the world at large, but gain me sharper of more blurred images as I see fit, different compositional elements, or just the chance to shoot people without any unnatural behaviour.

It’s nice to see I’m not alone from time to time.

Venezia-9

Leave a Reply

