Original title Loyalist Militiaman at the Mome...
Original title Loyalist Militiaman at the Moment of Death, Cerro Muriano, September 5, 1936 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Robert Capa was one of the greats.

Except that his real name was Endre Friedmann but he dropped that to conceal that he was Jewish in order to become a freelance war photographer.  His Hungarian origins were also abandoned in favour of presenting himself as American

Co-founder of the Magnum agency and one of the great war photographers.  Except that in recent years there has been considerable controversy over his most famous image The Falling Soldier,  with experts concluding that it was staged.

I’ve long been a firm believer in one of Capa’s maxims:

If your pictures aren’t good enough, you aren’t close enough.

Looking for something different to shoot on my latest flying visit to Hull I opted for the Humber Bridge; once the longest single span suspension bridge in the world it was visible from miles away when I approached from Lincolnshire last week.

If you Google “Humber Bridge viewpoint” you’ll be persuaded that the Humber Bridge Country Park is your best option, so I updated my SatNav and set off.

As a park it’s great, as a viewpoint it works in so far as you can see the bridge, in fact as the park is virtually under the bridge it’s difficult not to see the bridge, but that’s not what I wanted.

Heading further west into the park to trying and improve my angle didn’t really help.  Too much foliage to see the full extent of the structure.  I was still too close.APW_4723-Edit

I could have gone further, but with the sunlight already fading, and the ground underfoot slippery with a mixture of mud and ice, I gave thought to abandoning my goal.

But not for long.

Driving beneath the bridge, heading east and down towards the foreshore I found exactly what I was looking for.

Some things Robert, are better viewed with the benefit of a little distance.

APW_4749-Edit

APW_4726_HDR-Edit-Edit-2

Leave a Reply

