Writing the Venice entries for this blog is a self-indulgent exercise for my inner nerd, for many of the pictures require me to research more about the location or the subject matter before I lay fingers to keyboard, and along the way I learn things which is the reward for doing so.

Occasionally though I am defeated.  I’ve tried everything I can think of to discover more about this chap.  Religious imagery and small shrines in alcoves are so commonplace that any individual example probably doesn’t warrant the provision of any information about its history or purpose, and so this bishop must remain anonymous.

Or is he a cardinal?

Venezia-6

Leave a Reply

