My knowledge and liking for Renaissance art stems from my visits to Tuscany over the years; I was transfixed by Botticelli’s Primavera in a way I’d never anticipated.  A print had been on display in the junior school that I attended until I was 11 so I was familiar with the image, but here in the Uffizi was something so much more vibrant.  The Birth of Venus sealed the deal.

The works of Leonardo, Michelangelo, Donatello (don’t mention the turtles) and Caravaggio added to my fascination, and while I’m not Kenneth Clarke, I know what I like.

The trouble is that Italy in the Renaissance was comprised of small city states and republics, so there were other groups of artists operating elsewhere, so I’ve not enjoyed the works of Jacopo Comin or others of the Venetian school yet.  You might know Jacopo better by the nickname he was given as the son of a dyer, or tinter.  Tintoretto.

Venezia-10

2 thoughts on “Il Furioso; the little dyer (Venezia 132)

Leave a Reply

