For all that I’ve visited Wallington many times as my daughters have grown I’m surprised to find that I’ve never included it in this blog before.

The National Trust property, once the home of the Trevelyans, was actually the first such property to be donated to the trust in its entirety and has much to recommend it, for apart from the house itself with its fantastic pre-Raphaelite paintings there are 100 acres of woodland, ornamental lakes and a stunning walled garden.  A haven for butterflies, wild birds, and the dwindling population of red squirrels the estate has attractions all of the year round including four iconic stone dragon heads set into the periphery of the lawns as you approach the property.

So you’d expect that I’d have lots of images to share with you, but you’d be wrong. I took relatively few photographs, partly due to the heavy rain which descended upon the walled garden, partly due to the priorities of conversation with my friend J who accompanied me today.

As we walked I was reminded of some Lou Reed lyrics, on my radar as a result of his death earlier this week.  Despite the precipitation it nailed the mood.

Oh, it’s such a perfect day
I’m glad I spent it with you
Oh, such a perfect day
You just keep me hanging on
You just keep me hanging on
Just a perfect day
Problems all left alone
Weekenders on our own
It’s such fun

Just a perfect day
You made me forget myself
I thought I was someone else
Someone good

Lou Reed – Perfect Day

Thanks to J for some of today’s imagery.

APW_2867-Edit

Leave a Reply

