The Crown Jewels

After the sunshine of the south yesterday, I was looking forward to enjoying more of the same at home today. Foolish really, for what greeted me was cold, grey, wetness.

I was on my way to pick up my youngest daughter, and had a little time in hand. Where would I find something to shoot in these conditions. The answer was immediately apparent; I just wasn’t equipped for the opportunity

We all make choices in life as we adapt to the circumstances that it throws our way. Whilst I’ve always been fascinated by macro photography, I’ve never been able to justify the expense in addition to my favourite portrait lenses. Today would have been the perfect occasion for their use, for the subjects were at my feet in the lay by where I’d parked.

Weeds or wildflowers, the descriptor mattered not for each was anointed by the heavy dew that was the inevitable consequence of the misty murk.

I had to zoom and crop to get these shots so inevitably I lost the resolution that macro would have given. Nevertheless there was treasure to be found.

APW_2915

You belong among the wildflowers
You belong somewhere close to me
Far away from your trouble and worries
You belong somewhere you feel free
You belong somewhere you feel free

Tom Petty – Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

