Ok.

January 1st.

A time of looking forward, resolutions and new starts.

12 months ago I was beginning a project to photograph a different portrait every day, and of course ultimately i failed. The project became overarching, and on a laptop that struggled to process even a single edit per photograph was way too time consuming. Come November it had contributed to the break up of my marriage, and with the loss of one beauty, so I lost the ability to find beauty elsewhere. I’ve only used my camera once in the last few weeks, and tellingly that was to take shots in darkness.

My life this year will be very different; moving house, seeing less of my family, and bidding farewell to the delights of Whitburn and the bay that has provided so much inspiration. However, finding a new source could be the inspiration I need to pick up my DSLR once more.

Already I’ve ventured into the new and strange world of online dating which has given me some degree of future focus, though whether that also leads to new places and new images who knows? I’m trying to keep my feet on the ground and balance any sense of optimism against the inevitable losses.

The future of the blog is unpredictable. It might morph into something completely different, or it may remain a photo blog with only occasional updates. Time will tell, but thank you for reading.

Happy New Year.

4 thoughts on “Recrudescence

    1. Sorry, I didn’t mean to pry. I checked out your blog occasionally last year, and you appeared to be a close knit family.
      New beginnings……..good luck to you all.

Leave a Reply

