A big day today for thousands; the day of the Great North Run.  What better opportunity to get some interesting shots of athletes and spectators?  Except that I’m photographing a Baptism today so it isn’t going to happen.

The runners will welcome the overcast skies that have given the day a cooler feel than yesterday.  If they’re lucky a refreshing shower or two may provide further temperature control.

In Whitburn I suspect it will be a quieter day at the crustacean celebration that is the Latimer’s Lobster Fest.  The passing trade will be passing on their way along the coast to the finishing straight of the run on Marsden Leas.  There will be fewer strollers out enjoying the sunshine too.

 

 

 

 

For me though, these are the conditions that I love on a morning visit to the bay.  The rising sun’s crepuscular rays develop a greater range of colours in the sky, and then are scattered further by the wet sand’s desire to be a mirror to the details above.

There is a lot of bad HDR photography out there, that embraces the extreme look it can produce for it’s own sake, but a day like today can tempt me to go down that route too. 

There is always a sense of serenity on mornings like this, the sea too far away to impose it’s voice on your thoughts, and the soft diffuse light envelops all in its embrace.

And in this environment I am the exception.  Everyone I see has a canine companion, whilst I have only my Canon companion.  Suits me fine.

One of those enjoying introducing his Springer Spaniel to the sea for the first time was Ron.  His dog loved the experience.  I hope he feels the same way about this picture.

The Blue Nile – The Days Of Our Lives

 

Leave a Reply

