Sublime subverted

 

The circumstances of today’s photograph were rather similar to those when I wrote Monday’s blog Sublime.  The skies were cloudy, the beach was sparsely populated and the departing tide left a mirror of wet sand to bounce more light around.In contrast to Monday’s shots though I opted not for the overworked, high contrast underexposed imagery for something a little closer to my usual style.  Well some of the time anyway!

As I did so the heaven’s opened, though for once I had chosen to carry umbrella as well as camera, so there wasn’t an immediate need to stow the kit and stop shooting.  I like the way in which heavy rain creates pock-marked puddles as the shore which are continually erased by the next wave, only to begin again as the sea water subsides.

On Monday the sparse population of the beach meant I had to go elsewhere in search of a subject, and that was also the case today.  The entrance of the local Morrison’s supermarket being the only place likely to see a guaranteed flow of humanity, I made my way there.

On Monday my search led me to Jo, with her perfect complexion and long blond hair.  Today it led me to Mick.
Thanks Mick – you were a good sport!

 

Leave a Reply

