Holly and I met an interesting man in the supermarket this morning.  Unusually we were the one’s on the receiving end of a conversation about photography.

The man who began it had spotted the Canon slung over my shoulder and began by asking about the model, telling me that his wife (who had wandered on, focused on some serious shopping) also used a Canon.  He went on to tell us that he’d been an amateur photographer all of his life, loved his Leica, and warned of the perils of copyright infringement when you upload your pictures to the web.

I was sure he’d be my subject today, once I told him about my project, but I was to be disappointed.  His reason for refusing?  He didn’t have his false teeth in!!!  (That’s a first.)

Still, it wasn’t too much of a problem, because I already had some images to share.  My Canadian in-laws have been in the UK for the wedding mentioned yesterday, and as my niece Abby is of a similar age to my daughters, I’ve long been planning to get all three of them into a studio to photograph them together, and last week it all came together.  I didn’t get the chance to post on the day as we were preparing for the trip to Surrey that followed, but better late and all that.

I hired the excellent (and world famous) Bananastudios in Newcastle, knowing that Eric would be on hand for any help I needed, and also booked the fantastic make up artist Alex Pretswell, so it was a real treat for the girls.  As my sister-in-law Dawn, and mother-in-law Thelma dropped in to watch I even had the chance of a larger family group.

Whenever I’ve shot in the studio before, it has always been part of a workshop with other photographers, and so there is a fair amount of downtime between shots to relax and have a drink or a nibble.  Very different when you have three girls in rotation between outfits and make up and different sets to shoot too.  I was surprised to find myself working up a sweat as the afternoon progressed.  Who’d have thought that you could get a workout from a shutter release!

Here are just a few from the day including Dawn, who was adamant that she wouldn’t be photographed.  Glad a little misdirection prevailed!

Thanks are also due to Sly & The Family Stone who saved me from having to entitle this “Three Girls and a Banana!”

Sly & The Family Stone – Family Affair

Leave a Reply

