Whilst I was thinking about someone to photograph today I spotted a Malaysian family crossing Bridge Street.  The young man in the party crossed first just as the lights changed leaving him temporarily stranded until the rest of his family could join him.

As there were lots more people around here than usual I asked him if something was happening at the Stadium of Light, as that seemed to be where most were headed.

I should have guessed of course; it was the university graduation ceremony.  Students and their parents were converging on the banqueting suite at the football club.

Li, the young man, was here to see his brother graduate having completed his pharmacy degree, one of the subjects at which the university has excelled for many years.   Once his family had rejoined him, he asked for directions to the stadium which I was happy to give, so on they went dodging through the puddles.

I wished I’d offered them a lift, my car was close by and they were a nice family, but it didn’t occur to me at the time.  Still, they must be used to it.

Whilst we moan about the weather in this country if you look at us in the rainfall league table we’re very average, mid-table performers who average something in the region of 750mm of precipitation each year.  Malaysia manages approximately three times as much.  No problem then – I hope they enjoyed the ceremony.

Leave a Reply

